How do we give our new droids (post update 12) a name?

Ask & answer questions, submit ideas or post guides on the Droid Engineer Expertise.

Moderators: Crafting Forum Moderators, Forum Moderator

Locked
User avatar
passionfly1
Apprentice Crafter
Posts: 51
Joined: Tue Jul 28, 2009 11:03 am

How do we give our new droids (post update 12) a name?

Post by passionfly1 » Thu Aug 13, 2009 1:29 pm

The standard give him a command 4 times does not work with the new droids. What did they change here?

Tech Twin
Intermediate Crafter
Posts: 147
Joined: Tue Aug 28, 2007 1:50 pm

Re: How do we give our new droids (post update 12) a name?

Post by Tech Twin » Thu Aug 13, 2009 4:05 pm

I suspect they didn't change anything... and that is the problem.

There has always been a bug where some droids you just couldn't name... it seems completely random (no specific class of droid) but no matter what you just couldn't name them. I'd thought they would fix it for the update. :(


Oh, one more thing... sometimes when I thought the bug was affecting me it turned out that the name I was using was invalid. There is usually no system message notifying you of this so check out the name you're using and make sure its valid... that could be it also.
Image

The Namasoon Zoo as featured on Garva's "Home Show"; Nostalgia from SWG of Old!

Tinsel
I came here on the bandwagon
Posts: 69
Joined: Tue May 06, 2008 9:27 pm

Re: How do we give our new droids (post update 12) a name?

Post by Tinsel » Thu Aug 13, 2009 11:33 pm

I haven't had any trouble naming (or setting commands for) new or old droids, and I've done a couple dozen so far. I strongly suspect it's a problem with the specific name(s) you're trying (or other problems with the text you're trying to enter into the command), as Tech Twin suggested. There are a lot of banned words, not to mention, special characters and numbers.
Haunna Tanotalos, Elder Chef et al.
-4050 +870, Dantooine, Starsider
http://www.jademoon.org

User avatar
Monty Burns
Master Crafter
Posts: 549
Joined: Sat Mar 08, 2008 9:26 am
Location: New Zealand

Re: How do we give our new droids (post update 12) a name?

Post by Monty Burns » Fri Aug 14, 2009 12:26 am

I just go to the commands menu and drag the commands I want to the hotbar now.

I think they have just made droids much easier to use.

User avatar
Zimoon
Forum Moderator
Posts: 4817
Joined: Mon May 14, 2007 6:55 am
Location: Stockholm, SE
Contact:

Re: How do we give our new droids (post update 12) a name?

Post by Zimoon » Fri Aug 14, 2009 11:10 am

A vague mem'ry flying through my mind is that to name some droids one or two of the commands had to used and the third was any of them, three different commands all in all. But that might be an outdated memory ... eeeh, were was I? 8)

/Z

User avatar
Reeth
I came here on the bandwagon
Posts: 27
Joined: Sun Feb 22, 2009 2:05 am
Location: Oxford, UK

Re: How do we give our new droids (post update 12) a name?

Post by Reeth » Fri Aug 14, 2009 2:04 pm

To name a droid the same name has to be programmed into four different commands.

Droid User's Guide - Section 4

As for the new droids, it worked with an INS-444 I built just now to test it.

User avatar
Zimoon
Forum Moderator
Posts: 4817
Joined: Mon May 14, 2007 6:55 am
Location: Stockholm, SE
Contact:

Re: How do we give our new droids (post update 12) a name?

Post by Zimoon » Fri Aug 14, 2009 3:38 pm

Ahaa, 4 times, gaah, what I am feeling old and worn :|

Tinsel
I came here on the bandwagon
Posts: 69
Joined: Tue May 06, 2008 9:27 pm

Re: How do we give our new droids (post update 12) a name?

Post by Tinsel » Fri Aug 14, 2009 4:49 pm

The OP mentioned that he's using the 4-command technique in his OP. He's got that part... it's just not working.

OP, did you try with some names guaranteed to work? For example, I named my synthetic cloth droid Synthbot. Try doing the basic commands (no frills) and name yours that, since we know it passes through the filter unharmed. Synthbot group, Synthbot store, etc - don't try to put in long commands like Synthbot, I would like you to group with me RIGHT NAO! Just keep it simple. Let us know whether that works - if it does, you know the problem is in the text, not in the droid.
Haunna Tanotalos, Elder Chef et al.
-4050 +870, Dantooine, Starsider
http://www.jademoon.org

User avatar
Dea
Novice Crafter
Posts: 42
Joined: Sun Sep 28, 2008 1:17 am

Re: How do we give our new droids (post update 12) a name?

Post by Dea » Sat Aug 15, 2009 7:38 pm

I did it last night, and it worked fine. It did take me a bit longer, because I had the name in the wrong order.

For example, I should have been doing this while programming the command.

/tellpet (name) (command)

i.e. /tellpet Pullo Guard

Locked

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests